top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatty Lewis

The High's and low's of Bike racing

May started of really well for me with a 4th place in Kortessem, it was a challenging circuit with a cobbled sector. I was positioned well all race never really drifting outside of top 30. I got myself into most of the breaks that were trying to get away throughout the race but nothing was really sticking, Until with 2 laps to go a group of about 10 riders slipped of the front, they managed to pull out a 20 second gap but with 1 lap to go i attacked from the peleton to bridge across to the lead group solo, i caught them with 2km to go to the finish, unfortunately i ran out of legs in the sprint after my efforts to get across to the lead of the race.


My Next race was at Beveren - Waas where i got 8th. I knew before the start of the race that it was going to be a tough race as there was a lot of wind so i knew i had to be positioned towards the front going into the cross wind sections of the lap. The winning break move went just 2 laps into the race and thankfully i was in it with 13 others, the race was pretty much decided for the next 110km as we was working well together to stay away from the peleton. Going into the last lap i knew i needed to position well going into the final corner which i did so but on the exit i got boxed which cost me the sprint in the end as i was unable to go anywhere.


On the 14th of may i raced at Lommel-Lutlommel in a 1.12a kermesse, the race was 130km on a technical course. A break went on the 2nd lap with 12 riders including me, we managed to pull out a 2 minute gap over the peleton so i knew that we was going to stay away but with 5 laps to go some people stayed to miss turns so i decided to attack, in doing so four other riders came across to me and we got a gap but there was 3 riders from the same team in the move so with 3 laps to go they started to counter attack us, there wasn't a lot i could do in that position so 1 rider got away i rolled in for 5th place.



Triptyque Ardennais


My first stage race of the year was the triptyque ardennias which was on the 24th till the 26th of may. I have been looking forward to this race for some time now as it was one of my big goals for 2019 season. However after only riding 20km i was involved in a crash which put an end to my race as i fell pretty hard on my back and side. Luckily after having some x-rays done there was nothing broken just some bad bruising. A few days of rest and i will be ready to go again!


I would just like to say a massive thank you to The Lewis Balyckyi Trust Fund as i would not be able to race out in Belgium without them!


66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page